Update: #ILookLikeASurgeon going viral

A very quick post:

The Huffington Post has put out an article about the ‘I Look Like A Surgeon’ campaign and I am very appreciative that mainstream media has picked up on it. The Daily Mail quickly followed it up with a very large article solely on me and pulled pictures from my blog to fill it up. As thrilled as I am that DM picked this up, the article is put together from quotes pulled from the Huffington Post and social media, not from any of my direct comments to them, nor give explicit permission for use of any images, quotes or the like.

I am very flattered that the social media campaign has reached such wide audiences. This is not a campaign about, for want of a better term, fame and fortune. It’s about role models, solidarity, collegiality and inspiration. In the last couple of weeks, I’ve chatted with surgeons from around the globe and met some lovely people! I hope people who read what is quite a sensational headline on the Daily Mail website, read the story and the stories of many women who have contributed to the I Look Like A Surgeon campaign.

As trite as it may sound, I became a doctor to help people. And I chose my specialty for it’s technical ability, the subject matter is fascinating and for the wonderful people I work with. It was not only the surgeons I worked with that mentored me and inspired me, it’s the nurses from my early days as a resident and junior registrar who taught me how to manage wounds or put a bag of fluids up. The anaesthetists who showed me how to read an echocardiogram, the perfusionists who taught me more about physiology than I thought possible. I loved the early morning or late night chats I had with ward clerks, cleaners, secretaries and patients. Because without all of us working together to help me learn and do my job to the best of my ability, I wouldn’t be doing my job to the best of my ability. When I finished my training, I know I said to some of those people how thankful I was for their help and teaching, but now I want to say it again.

I do truly want to inspire men and women to do my job. I hope that by all of these wonderful surgeons jumping on this campaign we attract the best and brightest to our profession. And if you want to do this, check out the #ILookLikeASurgeon hashtag on twitter or Facebook – you will find no shortage of wonderful men and women to mentor you.

Holding on for the ride!

#ILookLikeASurgeon

#ThisIsWhatWeLookLike

2 thoughts on “Update: #ILookLikeASurgeon going viral

  1. the world needs more role models like you. surgery has always been my dream and as a junior medical doctor, you have re-instilled the faith and drive required for me to achieve this. i look forward to reading your posts. thank you for making a difference!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Women in STEM at the first Junket | Women in Science AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

